You Never Let Go

I have to say that this weekend at the Women’s Retreat was refreshing, rejuvenating, and God definitely made the most of this opportunity to show me, once again, that I really CAN trust Him. His presence filled our sweet time of learning and fellowship and I came away feeling washed clean and loved.

One of the theme songs for the retreat was “You Never Let Go” (lyrics below). It didn’t really hit me until today that I have been listening to that song for the last 2 years, even when I was still ensnared in the cult. Right around the time I’d “sold” my company for $10 and was systematically demonized by the founding pastor and his leaders, I stumbled upon this song. I remember listening to it and begging God not to let me go, (Remember, I was led to believe that leaving the cult would be turning my back on Him).

I was deceived into thinking God is an angry taskmaster who constantly threatens to take back the free gift of salvation, when in reality he is a loving God, full of grace and compassion, who was right there during my time of captivity, never letting go of me!

As I continue to walk out my healing and the restoration of my relationships with my children, as well as standing up for what is right and cooperating with God’s desire for justice, I am holding onto this promise…His perfect love casts out fear…and He won’t ever let me go.

Now that’s a God I can trust.

You Never Let Go (by Matt Redman)

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
Your perfect love is casting out fear
And even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life
I won’t turn back .
I know You are near

And I will fear no evil
For my God is with me
And if my God is with me
Whom then shall I fear?
Whom then shall I fear?

Chorus:
Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me

And I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
A glorious light beyond all compare
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
We’ll live to know You here on the earth

Chorus:

Yes, I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
Still I will praise You, still I will praise You

5 thoughts on “You Never Let Go

  1. Fantastic! Thanks Athena. I really needed to hear this today.

  2. So true – even when we are in a place that we don’t see HIM or hear HIM, He is only a whisper away.

  3. I’m hearing it now. Fantastic song! So happy for you to be free!

Comments are closed.