God’s Providence

Just picked up a devotional that was sitting on the kitchen table. I’m staying in a bed and breakfast of sorts right in downtown Enumclaw, and the kitchen is not a place I hang much, so to find such a timely book just waiting for me to pick up was providential.

Stepping Stones to Freedom by Rachel Hickson is “designed to help you discover the true language of your heart in this season of your life. For many of us this authentic language has been crushed…”That was the first line to jump out at me. Then I read Day 1 – Redeemed and Precious. It is so encouraging (especially the scripture verse!) that I am going to share it here in its entirety.

DAY 1

But now, this is what the LORD says— he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel: “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the LORD your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I give Egypt for your ransom, Cush and Seba in your stead. Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give people in exchange for you, nations in exchange for your life. Do not be afraid, for I am with you; I will bring your children from the east and gather you from the west.                              Isaiah 43:1-5

Thought of transformation

Today God takes hold of your hand. He takes your face in His hands, and He speaks into the depth of your being that you are of great value. Often we feel that bad things only happen to bad people. So when bad things start happening to us, we feel that we must be bad. But when we are walking through the fire of criticism, or being swept away by the waters of sickness or debt, God promises us that He is with us and these circumstances will not defeat us. He created us and so He knows our capacity and He will help us! But He does not just tolerate us in these difficult seasons of our life, He delights in us! So today let Him speak over you that you are precious, that you are loved and you are valued. God loves you. You are not in a difficult place because God does not care!

Prayer of declaration

So, Father, I thank You that You have redeemed me and You are with me to strengthen and hold me through every trial and difficult place. I thank You that whatever I feel, You never let go and You have redeemed me and will hold me today and every day. You always keep me close and You are the safe place! So, Father, today I pray that I will be more and more aware of the sense of value that You place on my life. Help me overcome every negative attitude that says I deserve this hard place. Pick me up and hold me close and let me hear the sound of ‘precious’ and ‘valued’ through my life. Thank you, Father, that You love me! Amen.