God’s Sense of Humor

I’m house sitting for the next month for some friends who are taking a trip to Texas. When I moved my things in on Sunday evening, there were all sorts of unusual noises and Copper wasn’t taking too well to any of them.

One was a series of 3 beeps that would start up every 30 seconds or so. It was very hard to distinguish where they were coming from, even when I got close I could not pin point them. After about 30 minutes (and a dog with chattering teeth) I figured out the fridge was letting me know the door was ajar.

Whew. Fixed.

Beep

Beep

Sounded like a smoke alarm with a bad battery. I go to where I think I hear it and wait. It beeps again. I go to where I think it is. I wait. It beeps again. Aargh!!! I am not finding it!

I text the homeowners…is there a smoke detector that’s been beeping lately? Where is it???

When you have 4 young children, the chances of hearing that soft beep every 10 minutes are slim to none. But fortunately, she texted back and told me there was an old one that had been replaced right outside the door into the attic.

Whew. Fixed.

Beep

Beep

Copper won’t eat. He is hiding under the bed. He is shaking more than Elvis ever did!

I take him over to Jessica’s house while I solve the problem….and then never get to it…too many other things to do. I bring him home last night after I get back from counseling and dinner with my son, and all seems quiet.

Until this morning.

Beep

Beep

I go from room to room, waiting for the beep. I finally zero in on the 2 rooms upstairs…one is a storage room and the other an office. I find more old smoke detectors in the storage room, take out those batteries….maybe it’s over now.

Beep

Beep

<sigh>

I wait. I hear it. I dig around the myriad of toys, drawers, piles, boxes.

Beep

Beep

I’m close…it’s louder now. It must be under this pile!

As I pull off the lampshade and catch a glimpse of the smoke detector buried beneath various kid stuff I hear the Hallelujah Chorus begin.

The battery comes out.

Silence.

Silence.

Hmmmmm. Kind of like our walk with God as we look for those things that affect us today. Sometimes we think we’ve found the root of the problem and allow Him to begin the healing process. And then it happens again.

Anger

Fear

We shake, we hide under the bed, we don’t eat (or overeat).

We might even get impatient and conclude that God isn’t working fast enough for us.

But this is a journey THROUGH the wall…on to healthy spirituality. Unfortunately for us Type A personalities, It’s not a sprint….no immediate gratification here.

Just putting one foot in front of the other. Letting God deal with each issue that arises, and not running away from them. Knowing He will finish the work.

Philippians 1:6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Thankful for the silence.

Praising God for His sense of humor!

2 thoughts on “God’s Sense of Humor

  1. Great analogy.

    I just had the same experience with my carbon monoxide tester that had been shoved under the couch, then the battery died. At 3 am trying to find the source of the noise without turning on lights or waking the family…

    Somehow, in my irritation, I missed the sermon the beeps were preaching. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.