Perspective

Roger Petersohn’s sermon on Sunday really touched me. It was all about perspective, and how our focus needs to be on God and enjoying our relationship with Him, rather than on our “to do” and “do not do” lists.

It reminded me of how much my focus was always on my “do not do” list for the last 12 years…the cult had me so zeroed in on my sins and focusing on everything I’ve done wrong or am doing wrong, that my perspective was so far from objective it wasn’t funny. Then, of course, there’s the fact that whatever you focus on is what you’ll increase in your life.  No wonder I made no progress in my longing for righteousness…all I had my eyes on was my sin (my “do not do” list).

Changing my perspective to be focused on the Lord and my relationship with Him has been so refreshing and productive! It’s no wonder that I am growing, once again, and regaining a proper point of view. When I looked up the word perspective in the World English Dictionary, the first two definitions really hit home:

perspective  (pəˈspɛktɪv)
— n
  1. a way of regarding situations, facts, etc., and judging their relative importance.
  2. the proper or accurate point of view or the ability to see it; objectivity.

What’s important is loving God, not being so overly consumed with my sin, and all the hoops I think I need to jump through to make sure God keeps loving me. There’s nothing I could do or not do to make Him love me anymore than He does right now. Understanding that one thing should cause a wave of gratefulness to wash over me and motivate me to zero in my thoughts and affections on the loving God I serve.

Help us, O Lord, to judge the relative importance of our “to do” and “do not do” lists…help us have the ability to see clearly and objectively Your great love for us…and to focus on our relationship with You, the lover of our souls. May all that we do, or don’t do, be birthed out of love for You, and You alone.

7 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. God has a good memory execpt when it comes to repented of sin.

  2. God is a very intentional God and He put a genius in you for you to find and use to please Him. He incredibly enjoys you and wants to see you experience His maximum love, peace, and joy.

  3. You are right, I am going through that same place right now, and you do not grow, but grow in fear, I hope God forgives me and when I fall again that he picks me up, cause I tend to relapse into many sins or behaviours sometimes but I will go on, that is what keeps me growing and learning. This post rreminds me of a post by Wade Burleson where he explains how legalism is cancer and takes or freedom in Christ away. I hope to regain my hope, freedom and happiness and feel safe intead of fearful, and happy when feeling close to God.

    • Hi Andrea…I spent 12 years in a controlling and legalistic cult and finally found my freedom 5 months ago. I’ve been blogging my journey now for the last 4 months and it is so good to learn what it means to be an emotionally healthy Christian, because for as long as I can remember, I was not one! I hope my other posts encourage you to keep moving forward in learning to trust God again.

      • Hi thank you for replying. Yes I have been following yoru blog for about a month , you are very strong and brave and your other posts about Dying to the Wrong Things and this are reallyt good, I save them when I need to remind myself that I am loved and accepted as who I am. God bless you, I know you are and will be helping lots of people with your testimony, your faith and with these posts.

Comments are closed.