God’s Faithfulness

As I spent the weekend going through pictures of my firstborn to prepare a video montage for his birthday yesterday, I couldn’t help seeing God’s faithfulness through the years, and more importantly in the last six months.

When I walked away from what I thought for 12 years was the truth, but in reality turned out to be a bona fide cult, I had determined that if that was God, then I didn’t want to serve Him anymore. True to His faithfulness, He went to work to convince me that what had been presented to me as God was, in fact, NOT GOD. God set out to prove to me that He can be trusted and that He had been grossly misrepresented.

Not long after I left He intentionally wooed me back to Himself. First in helping me deprogram through a wonderful woman of God, then in bringing me to The Summit where they were starting the first class in the Emotionally Healthy Spirituality study…the week after I stepped foot in the door. Then He provided a place for me to stay while I get my feet back on the ground and start earning a living.

He orchestrated a divine appointment when I visited my Mom and brother in San Antonio, TX which resulted in working with 2 different authors, providing for me the income I needed right at that moment. Then when it seemed as if nothing more was coming and I wrestled with whether I should go out and get a job, He sent me not only another author to work with but a group of authors to represent for a big event later on this month.

The encouraging part of the whole thing is every time I have been down to nothing in my account and I want to talk to someone to get my ducks in a row to earn some income, God won’t let me. I am learning once again how much He wants me to know His faithfulness. If I go out and make things happen, then how will I know whether it is me or Him?

One example in particular was my most recent coaching assignment. The author said they couldn’t move forward until April 30. On April 25 I so wanted to ask her to send everything over to me early and just postdate the check to make sure I’d have it on the 30th….funds were down so low I didn’t have an extra day. The Lord just would not let me do that no matter how much I whined to Him about my need. The very next day, on the 26th, I received an email from the author saying “I just dropped everything in the mail today with a check dated April 30.” Then on top of that, when I emailed her on the 30th to let her know the paperwork had arrived and say thank you, she wrote back explaining what a miracle it was that it arrived that quickly. Normally mail takes a week to reach Seattle from her small town, but this made it in half the time!

Then I started Bible Study Fellowship in the last few months of meetings before they break for the summer. And what are they studying but James, 1st and 2nd Peter and Jude. Hmmmmmm….warnings against false leaders and teachers. How timely!

There are numerous other instances where His ways have built back my trust in Him. In all of this His faithfulness rings true and I marvel at His handiwork.

The song that keeps running through my mind is Kari Jobe’s “You Are For Me”…how true it is, and how grateful I am for such a loving and faithful God!

So faithful, so constant and so true
So powerful in all You do
You fill me, You see me
You know my every move
You love for me to sing to You

I know that You are for me, I know that You are for me
I know that You will never forsake me in my weakness
And I know that You have come now even if to write upon my heart
To remind me who You are

So patient, so gracious, so merciful and true
So wonderful in all You do
You fill me, You see me
You know my every move
You love for me to sing to You

Lord, I know that You are for me, I know that You are for me
I know that You will never forsake me in my weakness
And I know that You have come now even if to write upon my heart
To remind me of who You are

More lyrics: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/k/kari_jobe/#share

5 thoughts on “God’s Faithfulness

  1. He gives us our daily bread! Thats why we don’t have to worry about tomorrow! If you start to worry, just ask yourself, “Do I have what I need for today?”.
    Love you so much! – Stephanie

  2. This is just excellent Athena. So thought provoking and inspiring. Thank you for continuing to share your journey. It encourages me so much!
    Kathleen

  3. Thanks Athena! This was so encouraging and such a blessing. Thank you for continuing to tell your story. You are an inspiration–a breath of truth and life.
    Kathleen

Comments are closed.