The Facts of the Matter

Ephesians 5:11

Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them.

For the last 20 months I have been in the spotlight of amazingly yellow journalism on www.enumclaw.com. I have not been able to read more than a few articles, as every time I do I want to defend myself, hire an attorney to sue them for defamation, post a rebuttal, and on and on…in short, I want to fight back.

I have refused to do so, until today. No, I’m not wasting my money on a lawyer to sue them. But after reading the most recent article in the Courier Herald, I felt a factual response was appropriate based on Ephesians 5:11.

I want to focus on one statement made:

Abigail Davidson said Fraser and his wife lived with her and her children for five years and was like an ‘uncle’ to her children.

She said the church’s website, Enumclaw.com, ‘has done nothing but try to defend the character of Malcolm and our church, (it is) not trying to defame anybody.’

First, let me say that Abigail Davidson is the name my former daughter-in-law gave herself (or claims God gave her) after divorcing my son, Ailen Dean, when he chose to leave the cult. Her birth name is Tia, and I knew her as Tia Dean. And those children that lived with the pedophile are still my grandchildren, even though they have been turned against me and their father in ways you could never imagine. For her to not even ask the question… “Could Fraser be guilty? Could he have done the same to my daughter?” is unconscionable and negligent.

But it’s exactly what I expected…you see, not long after the victim’s family left the cult, Tim Williams started blogging about The Innocence Project. He started making a big deal about how people get sent to prison when they aren’t even guilty of the crime, (and granted, some do). A short time later he started blogging about False Memory Syndrome, saying you can never believe it when someone says they were sexually abused as a child…they’re probably just trying to get attention.

So of course, when the truth comes out all these years later, the entire group is up in arms calling it false accusations…of course, blaming me…and no one in the cult even asks the question… “could it be true?”

Are you connecting the dots yet?

Yep, the brainwashing strategy of Tim Williams is classic, cunning, and wildly successful in this small group of followers.

But here’s the point I wanted to make about Tia (Abigail)’s statement. She said:

The church ‘has done nothing but try to defend the character of Malcolm and our church, (it is) not trying to defame anybody’.

Because I won’t waste my time to read everything that’s on there, I will comment on just a one item that proves her statement to be a complete LIE.

How about the one about the Enumclaw Police helping me to steal $20,000 worth of furniture and belongings from my former roommates?

Here’s a perfect example of the way Tim Williams’ rhetoric works…he omits anything that could change the way the story is perceived…even if it’s the TRUTH.

On the surface, it sounds pretty bad…

But there are a few facts he “forgot” to mention:

  • I offered them multiple dates and times to come and retrieve their stuff (through their attorney, which was a complete waste of money).
  • They refused to come and get their stuff.
  • I notified them if it wasn’t picked up by a certain date (new tenants were moving in) that I would give it away.
  • They refused to come and get their stuff.
  • Two days before the deadline, I called my former roommates’ (Jan Owens) mother in MO and tried to work out with her to get the stuff moved.
  • Jan refused to let her help.
  • I checked with the Enumclaw Police and was assured it could be considered “abandoned property” and that I could dispose of it without fear.
  • I gave most of it away, dumped what was trash (which by the way cost me money to take to the dump) and then took all the sentimental personal items (picture albums, quilts, etc.) to Malcolm Fraser’s house (where Jan and her nephews were living) and dropped them off (took pictures as proof, and Malcolm actually walked out of the house as I was putting them in the breezeway, so he knew I’d brought it!).

Now, go back and read that post, and you tell me what you see.

I’ve read a few other of the scandalous postings charging me with all sorts of crimes. I think rather than address any of the other lies, what I’ve already pointed out is proof enough that Tim Williams is a mastermind manipulator, controller, abuser with Hitler-like power to sway his followers into lying in a court of law. He will twist the facts, omit the facts, and lie about the facts, just to try to protect his little kingdom of 40 followers, (including children).

When I walked away on November 10, 2011, I chose to obey Ephesians 5:11. I chose to have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness perpetrated by Tim Williams and Malcolm Fraser, but rather expose them. I have been not afraid to tell my story…after all, they’d already gotten everything from me over the 12 years I was deceived…nothing really left to get, so I was willing to expose those deeds of darkness knowing the backlash would be ominous.

At times it has hurt to see those who were once friends believe the lies that are being told, but He continues to encourage me through those who hear from the Holy Spirit and can see through the rhetoric. I received this email yesterday from someone who sensed in the Spirit something was wrong at WinePress and set out to find me, when she Googled my name she saw all the junk they’d posted…here’s what she said…

“I know you’re a very busy woman, but I thought of you when reading Psalm 27, especially verses 12-14 ‘Give me not up to the will of my adversaries, for false witnesses have risen up against me; they breathe out cruelty and violence.’  V. 13 ‘(What, what would have become of me) had I not believed that I would see the Lord’s goodness in the land of the living!’ V. 14 ‘Wait and hope for and expect the Lord; be brave and of good courage and let your heart be stout and enduring.  Yes, wait for and hope for and expect the Lord.’”

And that is exactly what I’m going to do. Continue to be brave and of good courage…I choose to allow my heart to be stout and enduring…I wait for and hope for and EXPECT the Lord to expose all that needs to be exposed in order for those who are still in deception to break free.

15 thoughts on “The Facts of the Matter

  1. Emily Dickinson said, “Tell the truth, but tell it slant.”

    The same can easily be done with UNtruths. A characteristic tactic for manipulation is to leave out key facts that would otherwise utterly shift the interpretation of sieve-hole slanted sayings to being against the untruth sayers. And that’s the straight truth.

    Thanks for filling in some of the gaps in the record, Athena.

    • Hey Brad…I can totally see that…but can you expound on the comment that the slant ends up “being against the untruth sayers”…I’m not sure I get that. Thanks!

      • [I should know better than to comment before finishing my coffee. Sorry for the confusion.]

        Anyway, when I think of this saying, I picture what happens after a rainstorm where I grew up. After storms, I watched rain drip onto boards that were slanted against the garage. Whatever way the board is slanted, the runoff went in that direction. But if the board had a lot of knotholes in it, the rainwater started flowing down the board — but then dribbled out through the holes.

        A manipulator acts as if the story of his/her “board” is solid, but once you look underneath the surface, you see that it’s really not, because you see the runoff gushing through a series of huge holes in their storyboard. The manipulator’s version turns out to be a sieve because so many facts have been pulled out and it created a whole lotta holes.

        Not a perfect analogy, but that’s what was in my brain that didn’t make it’s way into the original comment!

  2. Athena, you are a picture of courage and faith that continues to bless me every time I read one of your posts. I can see God’s hand on you, turning your heartache into blessing for all that love you. You are in my prayers daily.

  3. Is SD/WP being investigated? Or is that wishful thinking?

    Do you think this “church” will stay in Enumclaw, or move on to more “fertile” soil?

    You know how I feel about being at WP and my interactions with the people there.

    • I certainly hope they are, but I have no idea…and as far as staying in Enumclaw…That’s hard to know, Barb…I don’t see how they possibly could stay there…but hey, I’ve been wrong before!

  4. Athena, Have you ever read, “Mistakes Were Made But Not By Me”? It helped me understand how people can be so completely duped and deceived…to the point of defending an evil child rapist. Granted, I’ll never “get” how someone can be that deceived but I know there’s more at work here than someone’s twisted psyche.
    You are such an amazing woman. I love seeing the transformation unfold in you. Rock on, my friend…

    • I love you Theresa…and you want to hear something completely amazing? Tim Williams actually had me read that book! The whole way through I’m saying to myself…”Am I doing this with Sound Doctrine? Am I ignoring the blatant truth because I can’t admit I made a huge error in judgment?” But then I would think that couldn’t be possible if Tim himself gave me that book! What an incredibly sinister way to mess with people’s minds! As I look back, I can’t believe how many ways he did that…and he probably had himself a good laugh every time I fell for it! Ugh!

      • Oh ma gosh. What a whack job!!! What a crazy maker!!! So very, very glad that YOU’RE free! And I love you, too. 🙂

        • Yep…that’s what my former husband figured out just four months in…if only I had listened to him and given them the boot then, my family would still be in tact and I would not be starting my life over at age 60. But God does still does have a way of restoring in the midst of our bad decisions…and for that I am grateful!

  5. Atheana, I hope you find a Church home that is truthful and serve the Almight God for real. I applause you for standing up and allowing God to open up your eyes to see pass all the manipulation and deceit. Keep praying for the other members and that those pastors be shut down for good. So many people is being deceived in churches because they do not know God for themselves and everything that talk God sounds good to them but thank God for the Holy Ghost who will teach you all things from the Father himself. JEHOVAH.

    • Thanks Veronica…I have done just that and it is a cup of cool water, very refreshing to say the least! And yes, I continue to pray that those still trapped will finally see the truth and get out. The enemy is a proficient deceiver and knows our weaknesses…but praise God He can and will deliver!

  6. Pingback: Toxic Leader Behavior and Proverbs 6 | Not Afraid to Tell My Story

Leave a comment